Past Regional Co-Chairs

In order to facilitate and incorporate local participation, local co-chairs are recruited each year. In previous years, Local Co-Chairs were:

Chicago, IL, 2006

  • Panayiotis P. Constantinides, PhD, Principal, Biopharmaceutical & Drug Delivery Consulting
  • Elsie Quaite-Randall, PhD, MBA Executive Director of the Office of Research Contracts and IP, McMaster University, formerly of Office of Technology Transfer, Argonne National Laboratory

Boston, MA, 2007

  • Robert Creeden, Partners HealthCare Systems, Inc., Managing Director, Center for Innovative Ventures

San Diego, CA, 2008

  • Kurt A. May, MBA, Assistant Dean, Executive Development Center, Rady School of Management, University of California, San Diego
  • Duane J. Roth, Chief Executive Officer and Member of the Board of CONNECT.

Atlanta, GA, 2009

  • Frank R. Hunt, MS MBA, President, SE bioStrategies, Inc., CEO, PNP Therapeutics, Inc.
  • Dennis P. Schafer, CEO, Life Science Management

Chicago, IL, 2010

  • Patrick G. Morand, Managing Director, SWMF Life Science Fund
  • Charles B. Hoslet, Managing Director, UW-Madison Office of Corporate Relations
  • Allen J. Dines, Assistant Director, Office of Corporate Relations, University of Wisconsin

Washington, DC, 2011

  • Elana Fine, Director of Venture Investments, Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship, Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland
  • Toby Gordon, Sc.D., Associate Professor, The Johns Hopkins Carey Business School
  • Martha J. Connolly, PhD, Director, Maryland Industrial Partnerships, University of Maryland

Boston, MA, 2012

  • Ashley J. Stevens, DPhil (Oxon), CLP, President, Focus IP Group, LLC and Lecturer, Strategy and Innovation Department, School of Management, Boston University
  • Rekha Paleyanda, PhD, Sr. Business Strategy and Licensing Manager, Partners Healthcare

Chicago, IL, 2013

  • Patrick G. Morand, Managing Partner, Open Prairie Ventures
  • Allen J. Dines, Assistant Director, Office of Corporate Relations & Venture Designer Hybrid Zone X, University of Wisconsin-Madison

San Diego, CA, 2014

  • Kurt A. May, MBA, Co-founder and Chairman, Psynomics Incorporated
  • Larry Stambaugh, Founding Principal, Aperçu Partners
  • Justin Chakma, Associate Director, Auspex Pharmaceuticals and Thomas, McNerney & Partners, LLC

Philadelphia, PA, 2015

  • Dennis Gross, MS, PhD, CEO, Pennsylvania Drug Discovery Institute at The Pennsylvania Biotechnology Center
  • James Jordan, MBA, CHT, Chief Investment Officer, Pittsburgh Life Sciences Greenhouse, Distinguished Service Professor in Healthcare & Biotechnology Management, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Alex B. Reitz, PhD, CEO, Fox Chase Chemical Diversity Center, Inc., The Pennsylvania Biotechnology Center

San Francisco, CA 2016

  • Benjamin Chen, PhD, Managing Director, Ignatius Transaction Partners
  • Moira Gunn, PhD, Host, NPR – BioTech Nation, Director, Business of Biotechnology Program, Professor, School of Management University of San Francisco

San Diego, CA 2017

  • Steve Flaim, PhD, FACC, FAHA, Chairman Emeritus, Tech Coast Angels, Director Angel Capital Association  
  • Larry Stambaugh, Founding Principal, Aperçu Partners, Numerous Boards of Directors

Boston, MA 2018

  • Edward Ross, Jr., MBA, President & CEO, ReadyDock, Inc., Member, MassMedical Angels and Launchpad Venture Group
  • Amy Siegel, MA, Co-founder and President, S2N Health

Philadelphia, PA 2019

  • Wendy DiCicco, Board Member, Carmell Therapeutics
  • Kathryn Doyle, PhD, JD, Partner, Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr, LLP
  • Hank Safferstein, PhD, JD, MBA, Senior Vice President, Cognition Therapeutics

The Sixteenth Annual Biotechnology Entrepreneurship Boot Camp

Sunday, June 7 and

Monday, June 8, 2020

San Diego Convention Center

111 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101

Room TBD

Add Boot Camp to your BIO International Convention registration, or register separately.



Drop Us a Line

Let us know if you have any questions!